narrow your choices

Marin Alsop, conductor
University of Maryland Concert Choir, Edward Maclary, director BSO Late Night

Arvo Pärt: Credo (BSO Premiere)  Podcast Symbol
Stravinsky: Symphony of Psalms Listen Now Podcast Symbol
Rachmaninoff: Symphony No. 2 Listen Now Podcast Symbol

Maestra Alsop presents a program of spiritual reflection. Rachmaninoff’s lush Symphony No. 2 was prompted by his exile from Russia as he grappled with history and faith. Influenced by Bach’s cantata Es is genug, Credo is Arvo Pärt’s merging of the worlds of love and hate to offer healing. Stravinsky’s moving Symphony of Psalms calls on a large chorus and orchestra to recreate a dark, mysterious ritual atmosphere.

BSO Late NightBSO Late Night: New this season! Join us in the lobby of the Meyerhoff for a post-concert performance on Friday, April 28, featuring the University of Maryland Concert Choir.


Rachmaninoff Symphony No. 2

Markus Stenz, conductor
Juho Pohjonen, piano

Mendelssohn: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage Listen Now BSO Podcast
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G Major Listen Now BSO Podcast
Stravinsky: The Firebird (Complete) Listen Now BSO Podcast

Principal Guest Conductor Markus Stenz gives us a rare opportunity to hear the color and brilliance of Stravinsky’s complete score for The Firebird, the commission from Diaghilev’s Ballet Russes that catapulted him to fame in pre-WWI Paris. Years later, Paris was again the setting for Ravel’s popular jazz-inflected concerto, perfect for the intense, thoughtful and fearless musical conviction of Juho Pohjonen, who makes his BSO debut.

Stravinsky's Firebird

Markus Stenz, conductor
Andrew Balio, trumpet

Mozart: Symphony No. 29 Listen Now BSO Podcast
Haydn: Trumpet Concerto Listen Now BSO Podcast
Detlev Glanert: Frenesia (BSO Premiere) BSO Podcast
Strauss: Till Eulenspiegel’s Merry Pranks Listen NowBSO Podcast

Maestro Stenz is a master of both the classic and modern Austro-Germanic repertoire. Mozart’s graceful Symphony No. 29 is modeled after Haydn, who Mozart often called his teacher. Haydn’s own humorous and virtuosic trumpet concerto showcases Principal Trumpet Andrew Balio performing a set of three cadenzas by Krzysztof Penderecki, the prominent living Polish composer. Transforming the orchestral palette, Stenz introduces fun and frantic Frenesia, an ironic homage to Richard Strauss, whose own whimsical tribute to the medieval trouble-maker, Till Eulenspiegel, makes for a rousing finale.

Till Eulenspiegel's Merry Pranks

Christoph König, conductor
Vadim Gluzman, violin

Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2 Listen Now
Messiaen: Les Offrandes oubliées
Gershwin: An American in Paris Listen Now

Four peer composers looked to France for inspiration with wildly different results. Christoph König opens with Ravel’s gentle memorial dedicated to friends lost in the war. The shift to fiery Prokofiev demands tremendous athleticism from the soloist, the superstar Ukrainian-Israeli violinist Vadim Gluzman. Olivier Messiaen’s deeply spiritual meditation takes us to an ethereal realm before Gershwin’s jazzy, raucous riff on Paris will have us humming into the night.

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Marin Alsop, conductor
Featuring soloists from the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F Major Listen Now
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major Listen Now
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major Listen Now
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major Listen Now
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 in B-flat major
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major

Bach's beloved Brandenburg Concertos come to life in the hands of Marin Alsop and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Widely regarded as some of the best orchestral compositions of the Baroque era, the six unique concertos showcase both the power of the orchestra and the talents of the highly-skilled soloists. This is Bach at his best.

Brandenburg Concertos

Marin Alsop, conductor
Gil Shaham, violin

Christopher Theofanidis: The GAME (BSO Centennial Celebration Commission, World Premiere)*
Beethoven: Violin Concerto Listen Now
Saint-Saëns: Symphony No. 3, “Organ” Listen Now

Marin Alsop pulls out all the stops for our closing concert with one of her signature works, Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3, “Organ.” Add to that the Beethoven Violin Concerto with audience favorite Gil Shaham, who will dazzle and charm us with his virtuosity. This is a program that is grand in every way— a fitting way to close out the first season of our second century.

Ten American composers have each composed a short celebratory work to be presented during the Centennial season. These include TJ Cole, Kristen Kuster, Lori Laitman, Libby Larsen, Caroline Shaw, Joan Tower, James Lee III, Jonathan Leshnoff,Christopher Rouse and Christopher Theofanidis. Chosen themes for the commissions include: fanfare for the uncommon woman, earth, death of Poe and dancing blue crabs. These Celebration Centennial works have been commissioned for the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and Marin Alsop by Classical Movements, Inc. as part of the Eric Daniel Helms New Music Program.

*Commissioned for the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Marin Alsop by Classical Movements, Inc. as part of the Eric Daniel Helms New Music Program. Also made possible by a grant from New Music USA through a generous contribution from Thomas Brener and Inbal Segev, and additionally supported by the Francis Goelet Charitable Lead Trusts, the Aaron Copland Fund for Music, and the Randolph S. and Amalie R. Rothschild Endowed Fund for New Music.

Saint-Saëns' Organ Symphony

narrow your choices

JUNE 2013
  • Strathmore
  • Meyerhoff
  • Other