narrow your choices

Christoph König, conductor
Vadim Gluzman, violin

Ravel: Le Tombeau de Couperin Listen Now BSO Podcast
Prokofiev: Violin Concerto No. 2 Listen Now BSO Podcast
Messiaen: Les Offrandes oubliées BSO Podcast
Gershwin: An American in Paris Listen Now BSO Podcast

Four peer composers looked to France for inspiration with wildly different results. Christoph König opens with Ravel’s gentle memorial dedicated to friends lost in the war. The shift to fiery Prokofiev demands tremendous athleticism from the soloist, the superstar Ukrainian-Israeli violinist Vadim Gluzman. Olivier Messiaen’s deeply spiritual meditation takes us to an ethereal realm before Gershwin’s jazzy, raucous riff on Paris will have us humming into the night.

Gershwin’s An American in Paris

Marin Alsop, conductor
Featuring soloists from the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra

Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 1 in F major Listen NowBSO Podcast
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 4 in G major Listen NowBSO Podcast
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 3 in G major Listen NowBSO Podcast
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 2 in F major Listen NowBSO Podcast
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 6 in B-flat major BSO Podcast
Bach: Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major BSO Podcast

Bach's beloved Brandenburg Concertos come to life in the hands of Marin Alsop and the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra. Widely regarded as some of the best orchestral compositions of the Baroque era, the six unique concertos showcase both the power of the orchestra and the talents of the highly-skilled soloists. This is Bach at his best.

Brandenburg Concertos

Marin Alsop, conductor
Gil Shaham, violin

Christopher Theofanidis: The GAME (BSO Centennial Celebration Commission, World Premiere)*
Beethoven: Violin Concerto Listen Now
Saint-Saëns: Symphony No. 3, “Organ” Listen Now Part One:  BSO Podcast Part Two:  BSO Podcast

Marin Alsop pulls out all the stops for our closing concert with one of her signature works, Saint-Saëns Symphony No. 3, “Organ.” Add to that the Beethoven Violin Concerto with audience favorite Gil Shaham, who will dazzle and charm us with his virtuosity. This is a program that is grand in every way— a fitting way to close out the first season of our second century.

Ten American composers have each composed a short celebratory work to be presented during the Centennial season. These include TJ Cole, Kristen Kuster, Lori Laitman, Libby Larsen, Caroline Shaw, Joan Tower, James Lee III, Jonathan Leshnoff,Christopher Rouse and Christopher Theofanidis. Chosen themes for the commissions include: fanfare for the uncommon woman, earth, death of Poe and dancing blue crabs. These Celebration Centennial works have been commissioned for the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and Marin Alsop by Classical Movements, Inc. as part of the Eric Daniel Helms New Music Program.

*Commissioned for the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Marin Alsop by Classical Movements, Inc. as part of the Eric Daniel Helms New Music Program. Also made possible by a grant from New Music USA through a generous contribution from Thomas Brener and Inbal Segev, and additionally supported by the Francis Goelet Charitable Lead Trusts, the Aaron Copland Fund for Music, and the Randolph S. and Amalie R. Rothschild Endowed Fund for New Music.

Saint-Saëns' Organ Symphony

Marin Alsop, Music Director
Agata Zubel, soprano
Inbal Segev, cello
Areta Zhulla, violin
Mark Holloway, viola
Alexander Fiterstein, clarinet

Schubert: Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667, “Trout”, movement 4
Kevin Puts: Quintet “The Red Snapper” (BSO Premiere)
Agata Zubel: Labyrinth (BSO Premiere)
Gity Razaz: The Legend of Sigh for cello & electronics (Baltimore Premiere)
Christopher Rouse: Rotae Passionis (Passion Wheels) (BSO Premiere)

Under Marin Alsop’s direction, the BSO’s inaugural New Music Festival opens with a chamber performance that includes five BSO premieres, one Baltimore and a World Premiere. Schubert’s beloved “Trout” Quintet leads the program, followed by Polish composer and soprano Agata Zubel’s performance of her own work, Labyrinth, a thrilling composition for voice and instrumental ensemble.

Peabody Conservatory
Griswold Hall
1 E Mt Vernon Place
Baltimore, MD 21202

Tickets for the New Music Festival can be purchased individually or as a package. All tickets are $15 for July 13, $25 for July 15 or $30 for both concerts.

BSO Late NightBSO Late Night: This concert will be followed by a special late-night performance featuring soprano Agata Zubel.

Summer, Classical
New Music Festival: Agata Zubel’s Labyrinth

narrow your choices

JUNE 2013
  • Strathmore
  • Meyerhoff
  • Other