Haydn and Ravel


Marin Alsop, conductor
Sol Gabetta, cello

Ravel: Valses nobles et sentimentales
Haydn: Cello Concerto in C Major
Ravel: La Valse
R. Strauss: Der Rosenkavalier Suite

Would you like to dance? In orchestral technicolor, Marin Alsop and the BSO bring to life the lighter and darker sides of the waltz as imagined by Ravel and Strauss in pre- and post-WWI Europe. After her triumphant 2012 debut, star cellist Sol Gabetta returns to perform Haydn’s sparkling concerto.