BSO 100th Anniversary Concert

Special Event

Marin Alsop, conductor 
Joshua Bell, violin
Mason Bates, electronica

Gershwin: Cuban Overture
Bernstein (arr. Brohn): Suite from West Side Story
Kristin Kuster: MOXIE (BSO Centennial Commission, World Premiere)*
Mason Bates: Mothership
Ravel: Boléro Listen Now

Join Marin Alsop and the BSO for a magical night as we party into our second century!

Make history with Maestra Marin Alsop and the incredible artists of the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra as we celebrate a milestone birthday! You’ll enjoy the timeless music of Gershwin, a suite from Bernstein’s West Side Story with superstar violinist Joshua Bell and Mothership, a work by composer Mason Bates, featuring local artists Cris Jacobs on the cigar box guitar and Tim Green on the saxophone. Celebrity guests will recount the BSO’s storied history and offer a glimpse into our future, including former Mayor of Baltimore Kurt Schmoke and BSO Lifetime Director Rheda BeckerThe evening’s crescendo culminates in Ravel’s rousing Boléro followed by a champagne toast.

Don't miss the party of the century!

*Commissioned for the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra and Music Director Marin Alsop by Classical Movements, Inc. as part of the Eric Daniel Helms New Music Program. Also made possible by a grant from New Music USA through a generous contribution from Thomas Brener and Inbal Segev, and additionally supported by the Francis Goelet Charitable Lead Trusts, the Aaron Copland Fund for Music, and the Randolph S. and Amalie R. Rothschild Endowed Fund for New Music.