Brahms Piano Concerto No. 2


Sorry, you missed this performance! For similar upcoming events, please view the concerts in the "You May Also Like" section on this page.

Marin Alsop, conductor
Hélène Grimaud, piano

Anna Clyne: Within Her Arms (BSO Premiere)
Schumann: Symphony No. 3, "Rhenish" Listen NowPodcast Symbol
Brahms: Piano Concerto No. 2 Listen NowPodcast Symbol

Reflective and mournful, yet optimistic, this program reveals artists at important turning points. Anna Clyne's Within Her Arms is a moving elegy written shortly after the passing of her mother. Schumann's richly Romantic symphony was written on the edge of his eventual madness and collapse. Following the lukewarm reception for his first concerto, Brahms waited 22 years before penning the second. Here, as performed by virtuoso Hélène Grimaud, it was clearly worth the wait: an expansive meditation on Brahms' life and the promise of the future.