New Music Festival: Agata Zubel’s Labyrinth


Marin Alsop, Music Director
Agata Zubel, soprano
Boram Kang, violin
Wyatt Underhill, violin
Mark Holloway, viola
Inbal Segev, cello
Timothy Dilenschneider, bass
Marcia Kämper, flute
Alex Fiterstein, clarinet 
Matthew Barker, trumpet
John Locke, percussion
Svet Stoyanov, percussion
Lura Johnson, piano

Schubert: Piano Quintet in A Major, D. 667, “Trout”, movement 4
Kevin Puts: Quintet “The Red Snapper” (BSO Premiere)
Agata Zubel: Labyrinth (BSO Premiere)
Gity Razaz: The Legend of Sigh for cello & electronics (Baltimore Premiere)
Christopher Rouse: Rotae Passionis (Passion Wheels) (BSO Premiere)

Under Marin Alsop’s direction, the BSO’s inaugural New Music Festival opens with a chamber performance full of premieres. Schubert’s beloved “Trout” Quintet leads the program, followed by Polish composer and soprano Agata Zubel’s performance of her own work, Labyrinth, a thrilling composition for voice and instrumental ensemble.

Peabody Conservatory
Griswold Hall
1 E Mt Vernon Place
Baltimore, MD 21202

BSO Late NightBSO Late Night: This concert will be followed by a special late-night performance featuring soprano Agata Zubel.

Supported by Presenting Sponsors Thomas Brener and Inbal Segev
Also organized in collaboration with the Adam Mickiewicz Institute as part of the Polska Music program