Stravinsky's Firebird


Markus Stenz, conductor
Juho Pohjonen, piano

Mendelssohn: Calm Sea and Prosperous Voyage Listen Now BSO Podcast
Ravel: Piano Concerto in G Major Listen Now BSO Podcast
Stravinsky: The Firebird (Complete) Listen Now BSO Podcast

Principal Guest Conductor Markus Stenz gives us a rare opportunity to hear the color and brilliance of Stravinsky’s complete score for The Firebird, the commission from Diaghilev’s Ballet Russes that catapulted him to fame in pre-WWI Paris. Years later, Paris was again the setting for Ravel’s popular jazz-inflected concerto, perfect for the intense, thoughtful and fearless musical conviction of Juho Pohjonen, who makes his BSO debut.