Pictures at an Exhibition


Nicholas Hersh, Associate Conductor
Joyce Yang, piano

Price // Dances in the Canebrakes
Prokofiev // Piano Concerto No. 3 in C Major Listen Now 
Mussorgsky/Ravel // Pictures at an Exhibition Listen Now 

There are few pieces of music as visually evocative as Mussorgsky’s Pictures at an Exhibition. Written in memory of artist Viktor Hartmann, the piece is a musical depiction of an art exhibition. Composer Florence Price was the first African American female recognized as a symphonic composer and the first to have a work premiered by a major symphony orchestra. Witness Joyce Yang push the piano to its limits with her performance of Prokofiev’s colorful Piano Concerto No. 3. 

Learn more about the program in Overture Magazine

Read more about the work of Florence Price in a BSO Listening Guide