Schubert The Great


Lahav Shani, conductor
Nikolai Lugansky, piano

Prokofiev // Piano Concerto No. 2 in G Minor Listen Now 
Schubert // Symphony No. 9 in C Major, “The Great” Listen Now  

Lahav Shani, winner of the Gustav Mahler International Conducting Competition and newly appointed Music Director of the Israel Philharmonic, leads Schubert’s "Great" C Major Symphony. The BSO is joined by Prokofiev specialist Nikolai Lugansky for Prokofiev’s Piano Concerto No. 2, a piece of herculean virtuosity, emotional intimacy and extreme difficulty.

The appearance of guest conductor Lahav Shani and pianist Nikolai Lugansky is generously underwritten by the Peggy & Yale Gordon Trust.

Learn more about the program in Overture Magazine