Tchaikovsky Piano Concerto No. 1


Marin Alsop, Music Director 
Gabriela Montero, piano

Bartók // Romanian Folk Dances
Bartók // Concerto for Orchestra Listen Now BSO Podcast
Tchaikovsky // Piano Concerto No. 1 in B-flat Minor Listen Now BSO Podcast

Revered pianist Gabriela Montero returns for Tchaikovsky’s virtuosic Piano Concerto No. 1. “[She] has everything: crackling rhythmic brio, subtle shadings, steely power… and, best of all, unsentimental expressivity” (The New York Times). Bartók combines his love of folk music with traditional classical forms and paints a picture with his Concerto for Orchestra, an innovative piece that pops with vivid colors.

Join us in the lobby of the Meyerhoff for a post-concert performance on Friday, January 19, featuring Gabriela Montero.

The Friday concert will feature a display of manuscripts and archival treasures related to the repertoire and composers featured on this weekend's concerts from the Library of Congress Music Division. This display is part of a new collaboration between the Library and BSO, which celebrates the artistic and educational activities of both institutions.

Hear Gabriela Montero on WBJC with host Jonathan Palevsky

Learn more about the program in Overture Magazine