Beethoven's Emperor


Marin Alsop, conductor
Lukáš Vondráček, piano

BRAHMS arr. SCHOENBERG Piano Quartet in G Minor  BSO Podcast
BEETHOVEN Piano Concerto No. 5, “Emperor”  BSO Podcast

Winner of the 2016 International Queen Elisabeth Piano Competition, Lukáš Vondráček will perform Beethoven’s last piano concerto, the mighty "Emperor." Marin Alsop also leads the Orchestra in Brahms’ most exhilarating chamber work, his youthful Piano Quartet in G Minor with its thrilling rondo finale, arranged for large orchestra by Schoenberg.

Lukáš Vondráček will be replacing André Watts, who was previously scheduled to appear as the soloist on this program. Due to an injury, it is with great regret that André Watts must cancel his appearances with the Baltimore Symphony Orchestra.