Appalachian Spring

Thu, Mar 14, 2019 8:00 PM
Fri, Mar 15, 2019 8:00 PM
Sat, Mar 16, 2019 8:00 PM

Marin Alsop, conductor
Valentina Peleggi, conductor
University of Maryland Concert Choir, Edward Maclary, Director

ROXANNA PANUFNIK (World Premiere, BSO Commission) 
COPLAND Appalachian Spring 
BERNSTEIN Chichester Psalms 
VILLA-LOBOS Chôros No. 10 

Marin Alsop conducts the world premiere of a BSO commission for orchestra and chorus by popular British composer Roxanna Panufnik. The chorus is also featured in Bernstein’s Chichester Psalms, which includes one of his most haunting melodies, and Villa-Lobos’ Chôros No. 10, a colorful and rhythmically propulsive work inspired by popular Brazilian music. Copland’s Appalachian Spring, created as ballet music for Martha Graham, remains one of the most beloved expressions of the American spirit.

These performances are eligible for the Young and Free ticket program. Click here to learn more.