Brahms Symphony No. 4

Thu, Oct 17, 2019 8:00 PM
Sun, Oct 20, 2019 3:00 PM

Marin Alsop, conductor
Aušrinė Stundytė, soprano
Renée Morloc, contralto
Peabody Women’s Chorus
Kateryna Sokolova, director

WAGNER Prelude and Liebestod from Tristan und Isolde
HINDEMITH Sancta Susanna (semi-staged)
BRAHMS Symphony No. 4

Marin Alsop leads the Orchestra in the Prelude and Liebestod to Tristan und Isolde, Wagner’s path-breaking expression of love that can only be fulfilled in death. Paul Hindemith’s one-act operatic shocker, Sancta Susanna, depicts two nuns visited by alluring temptations to cast away their vows and live a life of the flesh. Considered the greatest of his symphonies, Brahms’ Fourth Symphony concludes this program revolving around the most intense and forbidden of human passions.