Mozart Piano Concerto No. 23


Xian Zhang, conductor
George Li, piano

CHEN YI Ge Xu (Antiphony) 
MOZART Piano Concerto No. 23 in A Major 
PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 5 

A wealth of talent fills this program led by the fast-rising young conductor Xian Zhang. Celebrated female composer Chen Yi’s Antiphony opens the program, inspired by the antiphonal singing of South China’s Zhuang minority and featuring extraordinary drumming passages. Tchaikovsky Competition silver medalist George Li performs one of Mozart’s best-loved piano concertos, and Prokofiev’s greatest symphony, the Fifth, concludes the program.