Prokofiev Romeo and Juliet


Marin Alsop, conductor 
Yulianna Avdeeva, piano

MOZART Marriage of Figaro Overture    BSO Podcast
CHOPIN Piano Concerto No. 2    BSO Podcast
PROKOFIEV Suite from Romeo and Juliet 

The worlds of opera, ballet, comedy and tragedy visit this melodious program, bookended by Mozart’s vivacious Marriage of Figaro Overture and Prokofiev’s dramatic Suite from Romeo and Juliet. Russian piano sensation Yulianna Avdeeva performs Chopin’s Second Piano Concerto, the work that first won the composer international fame. A feast of keyboard virtuosity and irresistible lyrical themes, it is highlighted by a magical Nocturne, in which a rapturously beautiful melody makes time stand still.