Ray Chen Performs Shostakovich

Thu, Mar 19, 2020 8:00 PM

Jun Märkl, conductor
Ray Chen, violin

MESSIAEN The Forgotten Offerings 
SHOSTAKOVICH Violin Concerto No. 1 
RAVEL Pavane for a Dead Princess 
STRAUSS Death and Transfiguration 

Violin sensation Ray Chen returns to perform Shostakovich’s formidable First Violin Concerto, a deeply personal work that was hidden from the scrutiny of the Stalinist regime. The program also includes Ravel’s hauntingly beautiful Pavane for a Dead Princess and Richard Strauss' contemplative and powerful tone poem, Death and Transfiguration.