Stravinsky Pulcinella

Thu, Nov 21, 2019 8:00 PM
Sun, Nov 24, 2019 3:00 PM

Marin Alsop, conductor

BRAHMS Academic Festival Overture 
LERA AUERBACH BSO Commission (World Premiere) 
PROKOFIEV Symphony No. 1, “Classical” 
STRAVINSKY Pulcinella 

Written for a trio of singers and orchestra, Stravinsky’s Pulcinella is a sparkling evocation of the world of commedia dell’arte clowns. Marin Alsop introduces us to a brilliant and mesmerizing voice—that of the Russian-American composer and pianist Lera Auerbach, who brings grandeur and intensity to her large-scale orchestra music. The program is rounded out by Prokofiev’s witty “Classical” Symphony and Brahms’ boisterous Academic Festival Overture.