Dvorák Symphony No. 8

Thu, Nov 19, 2020 8:00 PM
Sun, Nov 22, 2020 3:00 PM

Rune Bergmann, conductor
Katherine Needleman, oboe
Harrison Miller, bassoon
Audrey Wright, violin
Lachezar Kostov, cello

GRIEG Peer Gynt, Suite No. 1
HAYDN Sinfonia Concertante in B-flat Major
DVOŘÁK Symphony No. 8

Norwegian conductor Rune Bergmann leads the BSO in Edvard Grieg’s First Suite from Peer Gynt, featuring the hypnotic “Dance in the Hall of the Mountain King.” Another piece rich in folk flavor is Dvorák’s Eighth Symphony with its nostalgic portrait of the Czech countryside and rollicking dances. Haydn wrote his Sinfonia Concertante in B-flat Major as a charming showpiece for an unusual combination of solo instruments — violin, cello, oboe and bassoon. Bright in spirit and full of wit, this work will show off the solo skills of four of the BSO’s talented musicians.