Mendelssohn Scottish Symphony

Thu, Oct 8, 2020 8:00 PM
Sun, Oct 11, 2020 3:00 PM

David Danzmayr, conductor
Pablo Ferrández, cello

MAHLER Adagio from Symphony No. 10
TCHAIKOVSKY Variations on a Rococo Theme
MENDELSSOHN Symphony No. 3, “Scottish”

Austrian conductor David Danzmayr leads the Orchestra in Mahler’s Adagio from Symphony No. 10, the searing first movement of a symphony he did not live to finish, as well as Mendelssohn’s beloved “Scottish” Symphony with its echoes of folk tunes and evocations of Highland warriors. Spanish cellist Pablo Ferrández, a prizewinner of Moscow’s International Tchaikovsky Competition, joins the Orchestra for Tchaikovsky’s Variations on a Rococo Theme.