Wilkins Conducts Florence Price

Wilkins Conducts Florence Price

14 14 people viewed this event.

Ninety years after Florence Price became the first Black woman to have a symphony played by a major orchestra, her Symphony No. 1 still stands out as a marvel of American identity in how it reflects the musical traditions of enslaved and native populations. This program kicks off with dances rooted in the folksongs of Hungary, and it features BSO Concertmaster Jonathan Carney performing Bruch’s beloved Violin Concerto No. 1, with its fiery finale channeling the rustic fiddling of central Europe.

Thomas Wilkins, conductor
Jonathan Carney, violin

KODÁLY Dances of Galánta
BRUCH Violin Concerto No. 1
PRICE Symphony No.1

To register for this event please visit the following URL: https://my.bsomusic.org/overview/18303 →


Date And Time

06-01-2024 @ 08:00 PM


Music Center at Strathmore

Event Types


Event Category

Share With Friends